2021-2025 Executive Committee


Sakyadhita Executive Committee-2025.

Sakyadhita Executive Committee-2021.
L to R: Ven Aileen Barry, Christie Yuling Chang, Jetsunma Tenzin Palmo, Eun-su Cho, May Ling Yeo.

Founding Sakyadhita Members

If you attended the first Sakyadhita conference and were a founding member, please send us your memories and reflections!

Lien Bui, SI Treasurer; Bhikshuni Nho Nghiem, SI Secretary; and Bhikshuni Karma Lekshe Tsomo, Branch & Chapter Coordinator

2013-2021 Executive Committee

2009-2013 Executive Committee

2000-2009 Executive Committee

Were You a Founding Member?

Christie Chang, President, 13th International Sakyadhita Conference, 2013
1st Sakyadhita International Conference Partipants, 1987

Thank you!
Because of your dedication to gender equality in Buddhism, a movement was started that would become Sakyadhita.

Were you there for the first International Conference on Buddhist Nuns? This conference paved the path for future generations, so we would like to hear from you! Please email us with photos and stories. If you'd like to set up an interview for the Awakening Buddhist Women blog please contact the blog's coordinators at this link.

Christie Chang, President, 13th International Sakyadhita Conference, 2013

Bhikshuni Karma Lekshe Tsomo and Chatsumarn Kabilsingh (now Bhikkhuni Dhammananda), 1st Sakyadhita International Conference, 1987


Working at the grassroots level, Sakyadhita provides a communications network among Buddhist women internationally. We promote research and publications on Buddhist women's history and other topics of interest. Our members strive to create equal opportunities for women in all Buddhist traditions. Read More

Join the Email list or Update your Address


Social Media